#WORDCRUSHWEDNESDAY

For today’s #WordCrushWednesday, I’m venturing into the world of poetry.

As a writer and an avid reader, I love the poetic nature of words, how they come together to create pictures in my mind. Some of my favorite words are found in song lyrics, which you could say is just poetry put to music.

So I should love poetry, right?

Right?

Of course, I should. But in reality, I find most poetry to be intimidating. I’m sure it has something to do with my ADD mind, but when I know that every word matters, I find myself thinking too much about what I’m supposed to be getting from a poem. Or maybe it’s just a hang-up from too many literature classes in college, talking about all the symbolism I somehow missed.

But there is one poet and friend, Jessica Katoff, whose bite-sized bits of poetry are right up my alley. It was hard to pick just one of her poems to share, but I settled on this:

screen-shot-2016-09-27-at-4-25-02-pm

If you like it, be sure to follow Jessica Katoff on Instagram where you can find this and many more poetic gems about life, love and loss.

 

 

About thishammer

Alison Hammer is an advertising writer/Creative Director and the author of Face The Music (currently seeking agent representation). She has lived in 9 cities, studied at 2 universities and 1 “Circus”, worked at 8 ad agencies, sailed on The Rock Boat 15 times and watched over 120 Gator football games (including 2 national championships). She loves words and the challenge of bringing them together to inspire, to sell products and make people feel something. She has experience writing in every medium for clients ranging from telecom and retail to the Military and hotels.
This entry was posted in #WordCrushWednesday, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #WORDCRUSHWEDNESDAY

  1. Randy says:

    I don’t like poetry but that short oh and by Katoff is excellent

    Like

Leave a Reply

