RING IN THE NEW BOOK!

Last night was a little like New Years Eve, except a lot more stressful.

There was the countdown to midnight.

There was a chilled glass of (rose) champagne.

And when the clock struck 12:00, there was…writing?

14852995_10153782189466148_8771391492435173848_o

If I’m being honest, the writing started around 12:05. The first five minutes were spent staring at the blank page of my brand new word document, appropriately named Draft Zero (see yesterday’s post).

Thanks to my October prep, I have a pretty tight outline of novel #2. (That’s the plotting part of me, there will be plenty of room for pantsing and evolving as I go!)  So while I knew exactly what the opening scene was going to be, actually getting the words on the page proved to a bit challenging.

There’s an unwritten pressure about the first line of a novel, but once I had that down, the words started flowing. Of course, that first line will probably change more than a few times, but I’m going to finish first. And then I’ll go back to revise and revise and probably revise again.

In the meantime, I’m happy to say that as of 1am last night, I’m 713 words in. Only 49,287 more to go and Day 1 isn’t even over yet!

Cheers and Happy New Book!

 

About thishammer

Alison Hammer is an advertising writer/Creative Director and an author represented by Joanna MacKenzie of Nelson Literary. Her debut novel, YOU AND ME AND US is out now, and her second novel, LITTLE PIECES OF ME is coming out April 13th from William Morrow (HarperCollins), and . She has lived in 9 cities, studied at 2 universities and 1 “Circus”, worked at 8 ad agencies, sailed on The Rock Boat 15 times and watched over 120 Gator football games (including 2 national championships). She loves words and the challenge of bringing them together to inspire, to sell products and make people feel something. She has experience writing in every medium for clients ranging from telecom and retail to the Military and hotels.
This entry was posted in NANOWRIMO. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RING IN THE NEW BOOK!

  1. Rcmfy says:

    You go girl.

    Like

  2. Pingback: A TALE OF TWO NANOS | @ThisHammer

Leave a comment